What is the difference between a Head Shot and a Business Portrait?

I use both these terms to loosely define the diverse corporate portraits I’ve created with my business clients. So this blog is just about my thinking process.

Head Shots of a team should reflect the public personality of the business.
They often used on an “about us” or “meet the team” web page, so each portrait should follow the company brief.

A popular commission is to produce a collection of friendly and welcoming studio photos – and I am NOT a fan of forced smiles.

It is my job to encourage a confident and relaxed expression from each unique colleague so that the business presents a diverse and talented team.

Some colleagues may regularly feature in the press so various expressions should be captured.
A smiling photo next to an article about bad news may not be well received, but I believe the subject should still look like a nice person.

Sometimes the brief is more relaxed and informal, but the team are still directed to portray the company personality.

If an individual IS the business, they will want to appeal to or inspire likeminded clientele.

This is what I call a Business Portrait: the subject is the story of the photograph.

Images describing their personality, lifestyle, story of success and work ethic are invaluable.
Detailed preparation of locations, wardrobe, and props is essential.

A client might need photographs for a press profile or a book. Often, they want an updated library of images for different purposes.

A positive relationship with your photographer is an advantage – creating these portraits is a TEAM effort.
Make sure you are both comfortable and on the same wavelength.

About ingridweel

I am a photographer based in Surrey, UK. I offer creative wedding photography, family memories and corporate imagery of all kinds from head shots to large events. I like to think outside the box and create unusual as well as attractive photographs.
This entry was posted in Business Photography, Business Portraits, head shots, Marketing, Profile Picture, Public Relations, social media, sole trader. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment