Shooting a Photographer…..

So many clients start their photo shoot by saying: “I HATE having my picture taken.” I do my best to reassure and relax them while introducing an element of fun into the session.

Then it was my turn to have new portraits taken, and the tables were well and truly flipped…I am middle aged, not as svelte as I once was, possess minimal make-up skills and am often found in jeans and a T-shirt/hoody. These things were ALL I could think of as the appointed day came closer and I was a bag of nerves.

I should know better, right?? Well, we all have insecurities and that is just the way it is.

I needed someone to “handle” me – not only was I preoccupied with my appearance, but I did not want to think like a photographer. I wanted to relax.

Whenever I ask fellow photographer, Angela Melling for an opinion on anything, she gives it – and I respect her greatly for it. I knew she would be both sympathetic and very straight with me.

So, on the day I chose comfy clothes (and a more formal option just in case…), an outdoor location and managed to wash and blow dry my hair. I could not stop the nervous giggles at first but soon relaxed under Angela’s expert guidance and reassurance.

My point is – I get it. I know how most people feel in front of the lens from personal experience.

TALK to your photographer, do not be shy about your insecurities. Mutual trust makes for a great image.

Thank you, Angela!

About ingridweel

I am a photographer based in Surrey, UK. I offer creative wedding photography, family memories and corporate imagery of all kinds from head shots to large events. I like to think outside the box and create unusual as well as attractive photographs.
This entry was posted in Business Photography, Business Portraits, Corporate Portraits, head shots, Marketing, Profile Picture, social media, Surrey Wedding Photographer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment