Alpacas: A Bigger Picture

Since 1994, my entire adult life has revolved around working with cameras. My photography business covers the usual weddings, family and corporate – but I often add the statement that I am “somewhat known” in the alpaca world.

Years ago, my great friends of Backyard Alpacas started their herd and joined in competing with fellow breeders, becoming active in The Heart of England Alpaca Group. Through them I started covering their annual Spring Fiesta and this year photographed at the BAS National Show.

Who would have thought that these strange squeaky camelids would win me over so much?
I now fling around terms like Suri, Huacaya, density and lustre like a proper armchair expert and look forward to showing season with fond anticipation.

Excitement, competition, rosettes, trophies, and titles make up these show days.
Success in the categories makes the animals desirable for breeding.
Networking amongst the owners improves bloodlines.
The one thing that has become noticeably clear to me is that the quality of the animal’s fleece nails a win!

I am a great believer in sustainability and eco-friendly living.
In the breath after describing myself as “known in the alpaca world” I follow up with the environmental virtues of their fleece.

Alpaca fibre is one of the most sustainable products on the planet used as a material for clothing and bedding. Any fur used comes from alpacas that have died naturally and clothing made from the wool is extremely durable, incredibly warm and hypo allergenic.

Val Scane of Little Acres Alpacas

Whatever the subject, I love using my camera and every now and then I get an idea to create something (hopefully) meaningful.

It struck me while shooting at the BAS National Show that the relationship between the competition and the practical benefits of the fleece needed celebrating.
Over dinner, I floated the idea of creating images portraying actual breeders and their animals…the idea seemed well received.

Lulu Oliver of Lusi Alpacas in Northamptonshire also runs the alpaca clothing business Softly Softly.

Val Scane is the owner of Little Acres Alpacas, a small breeder in Oxfordshire.

Both these exceptional ladies are highly active in the Heart of England Alpaca Group, and I have known them for years.

We three got together aided by enthusiastic newbie handler and part-time human light stand Lucie Bourne to create these images during the HoEAG Spring Fiesta in April, 2022.

Breeder, animal, and product.
I am so pleased with the results of this visual exercise.

I hope the alpaca community appreciate the meaning of these photographs with well-deserved pride.

Alpaca products and breeding deserve appreciation and value in our society.
There is a lot more to these creatures than being exceedingly adorable!

Val Scane of Little Acres Alpacas wearing a wrap from
clothing business Softly Softly
Breeder Val Scane in a scarf by Softly Softly

About ingridweel

I am a photographer based in Surrey, UK. I offer creative wedding photography, family memories and corporate imagery of all kinds from head shots to large events. I like to think outside the box and create unusual as well as attractive photographs.
This entry was posted in Alpacas, Public Relations, The Environment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment